Our Students

Print

During the first year of study, our students complete several courses along with participating in journal club and laboratory rotations. They begin their full-time dissertation research at the beginning of their second year.

First-Year Students

GSK Student
Marimar Benitez De La Vega

benitem2@sloankettering.edu
BS, University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras

GSK Student
Ines Fernandez Maestre

maestrei@sloankettering.edu
BS, Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona; MS, Fachhochschule Technikum Wien

GSK Student
Mohammed T. Islam

islamm2@sloankettering.edu
BA, Skidmore College

GSK Student
Margaret Kennedy

kennedm4@sloankettering.edu
BS, The College of New Jersey

GSK Student
Hyunu Kim

kimh7@sloankettering.edu
AB, Washington University in St. Louis

GSK Student
Dingyu Liu

liud5@sloankettering.edu
BS, Shanghai Jiaotong University

GSK Student
Thomas F. McNamara

mcnamat1@sloankettering.edu
BS, Trinity College

GSK Student
Brianna Naizir

naizirb@sloankettering.edu
BS, The City College of New York

GSK Student
Minh N. Nguyen

nguyenm4@sloankettering.edu
AB, Mount Holyoke College

GSK Student
Sarah C. Perlee

perlees@sloankettering.edu
BS, The University of Vermont

GSK Student
Troy M. Robinson

RobinsT1@sloankettering.edu
BS, University of California, Santa Barbara

GSK Student
Ana Sanchez

SancheA6@sloankettering.edu
BS, John Jay College of Criminal Justice

GSK Student
Thinh N. Tran

trant2@sloankettering.edu
BS, New York University Abu Dhabi; M.Sc, University of Toronto

GSK Student
David J. Van Dongen

vandongd@sloankettering.edu
BA, Drew University

GSK Student
Isaac Wakiro

wakiroi@sloankettering.edu
BS, College of St. Scholastica

GSK Student
Nan Xu

xun@sloankettering.edu
BS, University of Wisconsin, Madison

GSK Student
Haochen Zhang

zhangh5@sloankettering.edu
BS, BA, The University of Chicago

GSK Student
Zhi Zheng

zhengz1@sloankettering.edu
BS, Southern University of Science and Technology

Second-Year Students

Bradley Benjamin
Bradley Benjamin

Benjamib@sloankettering.edu
BS, Tufts University; MS, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Mentor: Stewart H. Shuman

Kevin Boehm
Kevin M. Boehm

Boehmk@sloankettering.edu
BS, Yale University
Mentor: Sohrab P. Shah

Yanyang Chen
Yanyang Chen

cheny4@mskcc.org
BA, Columbia University; BS, City University of Hong Kong
Mentor: John Maciejowski

Celeste Dang
Celeste Dang

dangc1@sloankettering.edu
BS, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Mentor: Joseph C. Sun

Shengyu (Sherry) Gao
Shengyu (Sherry) Gao

Gaos1@sloankettering.edu
BS, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Mentor: Ming Li

Eleanor M. Johns
Eleanor M. Johns

Johnse@sloankettering.edu
BA, University of Pennsylvania
Mentor: Richard M. White

Ella M.  Melnik
Ella M. Melnik

Melnike@sloankettering.edu
BS, Pacific Union College
Mentor: Christopher D. Lima

Katelyn Mullen
Katelyn Mullen

Mullenk1@sloankettering.edu
BS, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Mentor: Christine A. Iacobuzio-Donahue

Chi L.  Nguyen
Chi L. Nguyen

Nguyenc1@sloankettering.edu
BA, Colgate University
Mentor: Marcel R. M. van den Brink

Alexander Settle
Alexander Settle

Settlea@sloankettering.edu
BS, Cornell University
Mentor: Morgan Huse

Hongyu Shi
Hongyu Shi

Shih@sloankettering.edu
BS, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Mentor: Nikolaus D. Schultz and Sohrab P. Shah

Michael Waarts
Michael Waarts

Waartsm@sloankettering.edu
BS, University of Chicago
Mentor: Ross L. Levine

Jielin Yan
Jielin Yan

Yanj3@sloankettering.edu
BS, University of Chicago
Mentor: Danwei Huangfu

Third-Year Students

Corina Amor Vegas
Corina Amor Vegas

amorvegc@sloankettering.edu
MD, Universidad Complutense de Madrid
Mentor: Scott W. Lowe, PhD

Jordan Aronowitz
Jordan Aronowitz

aronowij@sloankettering.edu
BS, University of Rochester
Mentor: Piro Lito

Mariano Aufiero
Mariano Aufiero

aufierom@sloankettering.edu
BS, University of Texas Austin

Mollie Chipman
Mollie Chipman

chipmanm@sloankettering.edu
BS, Tufts University
Mentor: Luis F. Parada

Florisela Herrejon Chavez
Florisela Herrejon Chavez

herrejof@sloankettering.edu
BS, Portland State University
Mentor: Michael Kharas

Ellen Horste
Ellen Horste

horstee@sloankettering.edu
BS, University of Michigan Ann Arbor; MS, Loyola University Chicago
Mentor: Christine Mayr

Buren Li
Buren Li

lib@sloankettering.edu
BS, MS, University of Toronto
Mentor: Nikola P. Pavletich

Adina Schonbrun
Adina Schonbrun

wakschla@sloankettering.edu
BA, Yeshiva University
Mentor: Marilyn D. Resh

Zhouyang Shen
Zhouyang Shen

shenz@sloankettering.edu
BS, UC Los Angeles
Mentor: Philipp Niethammer

Adele Whaley
Adele Whaley

whaleya@sloankettering.edu
BS, SUNY Stony Brook
Mentor: Neal X. Rosen

Fourth-Year Students

Yu-Jung Chen, Graduate Student
Yu-Jung Chen

cheny5@sloankettering.edu
MD, National Yang Ming University; MS, National Yang Ming University
Mentor: Luis Parada

Miguel Francisco M. De Jesus, Graduate Student
Miguel Francisco de Jesus

dejesusm@sloankettering.edu
BS, University of the Philippines
Mentor: Morgan Huse

Michael Galiano
Michael Galiano

galianom@sloankettering.edu
BA, Connecticut College
Mentor: Zhirong Bao

Tyler Hitchman
Tyler Hitchman

hitchmat@sloankettering.edu
BS, Clarkson University
Mentor: Yu Chen

Renhe Luo
Renhe Luo

luor@sloankettering.edu
BS, Shanghai Jiaotong University
Mentor: Danwei Huangfu

Stella V. Paffenholz, MS
Stella V. Paffenholz

paffenhs@sloankettering.edu
MS, Ruprecht-Karls-Universitat Heidelberg (Germany); BS, Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universitat Bonn (Germany)
Mentor: Scott W. Lowe, PhD

Amy Shyu
Amy Shyu

shyua@sloankettering.edu
BS, National Taiwan University; MS, University of Pennsylvania
Mentor: Ming Li

Maria Sirenko, Graduate Student
Maria Sirenko

sirenkom@sloankettering.edu
BS, Cornell University
Mentor: Elli Papaemmanuil

Ryan Smolkin
Ryan Smolkin

smolkinr@sloankettering.edu
BS, UC Los Angeles
Mentor: Jayanta Chaudhuri

Zhongmin Wang
Zhongmin Wang

wangz2@sloankettering.edu
BSc, The University of Hong Kong
Mentor: Alexander Rudensky

Fifth-Year Students

Paige Arnold
Paige Arnold

arnoldp@sloankettering.edu
BS, Duke University
Mentor: Lydia Finley

Hsuan-An Chen, BS
Hsuan-An Chen

chenh2@sloankettering.edu
BS, National Taiwan University (Taiwan)
Mentor: Scott W. Lowe, PhD

Tingxu Chen, BS
Tingxu Chen

chent1@sloankettering.edu
BS, Shanghai Jiaotong University
Mentor: Kathryn Anderson

Anton Dobrin
Anton Dobrin

dobrina@sloankettering.edu
BS, University of Toronto; MS, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich
Mentor: Michel Sadelain

Rui Gao
Rui Gao

gaor@sloankettering.edu
BS, Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine, U. of London; Master of Research, Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine, U. of London
Mentor: Andrea Ventura, MD, PhD

Caroline Gleason, BA
Caroline Gleason

gleasonc@sloankettering.edu
BA, Barnard College
Mentor: Andrew Koff

Emily Kansler
Emily Kansler

kanslere@sloankettering.edu
BS, Salisbury University; ScM, Johns Hopkins University
Mentor: Ming Li

Yasemin Kaygusuz, BS
Yasemin Kaygusuz

kaygusuy@sloankettering.edu
BS, Bilkent Universitesi
Mentor: Joan Massaguè

Miguel Miranda-Roman
Miguel Miranda-Roman

mirandm4@sloankettering.edu
BS, University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras
Mentor: Ping Chi

Gemma Regan-Mochrie, BA
Gemma Regan-Mochrie

reganmog@sloankettering.edu
BA, Smith College
Mentor: Xiaolan Zhao

Sarah Tang, BS
Sarah Tang

tangs@sloankettering.edu
BS, UC Irvine
Mentor: Ingo Mellinghoff

Sixth-Year Plus Students

Jacob A. Boyer, BS
Jacob A. Boyer

boyerj@sloankettering.edu
BS, Pennsylvania State University
Mentor: Neal Rosen

Ivan J. Cohen
Ivan J. Cohen

coheni@sloankettering.edu
BA/MA, Hunter College
Mentor: Ronald G. Blasberg

Pictured: Christopher Hulton
Christopher Hulton

hultonc@sloankettering.edu
BS, Northeastern University; MS, Northeastern University
Mentor: Charles Rudin

Nayan Jain, B. Tech
Nayan Jain

jainn@sloankettering.edu
B. Tech, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras
Mentor: Michel Sadelain

Mark J. Jelcic, BA
Mark J. Jelcic

jelcicm@sloankettering.edu
BA, New York University
Mentor: Philipp Niethammer

Pictured: Brian J. Joseph
Brian J. Joseph

josephb1@sloankettering.edu
BS, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Mentor: Eric C. Lai

James W. Keith, Jr., BA
James W. Keith, Jr.

keithj@sloankettering.edu
BA, Vassar College
Mentor: Eric Pamer

Nicholas F. Kuhn, BS, MS, Graduate Student
Nicholas F. Kuhn

kuhnn@sloankettering.edu
BS, Julius Maximilian University of Würzburg; MS, Charité University Medicine Berlin
Mentor: Renier Brentjens

Xiaoyi Li
Xiaoyi Li

lix@sloankettering.edu
BS, Tsinghua Univeristy
Mentor: Andrea Ventura

Michelle M. E. Riegman, BS, MB
Michelle M. E. Riegman

riegmanm@sloankettering.edu
BS, University College Utrecht; MB, University of Pennsylvania
Mentor: Michael Overholtzer

Ryan C. Smith, BA
Ryan C. Smith

smithr@sloankettering.edu
BA, Wesleyan University
Mentor: Viviane Tabar

Pictured: Benjamin Y. Tischler
Benjamin Y. Tischler

tischleb@sloankettering.edu
Columbia University
Mentor: Tobias Hohl

Hannah Wise, BS
Hannah Wise

johnsenh@sloankettering.edu
BS, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Mentor: David B. Solit

Brittany A. Woods, BS
Brittany A. Woods

woodsb@sloankettering.edu
BS, Boston College
Mentor: Ross Levine

Yuchen Xie
Yuchen Xie

xiey1@sloankettering.edu
BS, Tsinghua University
Mentor: Emily Cheng

Zeda Zhang
Zeda Zhang

zhangz3@sloankettering.edu
BS, Sun Yat-Sen University, China
Mentor: Charles L. Sawyers