MSK Commencement

Commencement is an opportunity to gather with your classmates, mentors, and loved ones to recognize your academic achievements. The special day marks the end of a life changing experience and celebrates new beginnings.

The 2023 GSK Commencement and MSK Academic Convocation will take place on May 17, 2023 at

Watch live on May 17

GSK Honorary Doctorate of Science Recipients

  • 2012: Mr. Louis V. Gerstner, Jr., and Dr. Harold E. Varmus
  • 2013: Dr. Paul A. Marks
  • 2014: Dr. Thomas J. Kelly
  • 2015: Dr. Robert A. Weinberg
  • 2016: Dr. Joan S. Brugge
  • 2017: Dr. Robert Langer
  • 2018: Dr. Cori Bargmann
  • 2019: Dr. Kenneth J. Marians
  • 2020: Dr. James P. Allison
  • 2021: Dr. Joan A. Steitz
  • 2022: Dr. Levi A. Garraway