Pictured: Kenneth Marians

Welcome to the Louis V. Gerstner, Jr. Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (GSK), Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. We invite you to pursue your graduate studies with us.

Our school admitted its first class of PhD students in 2006. In subsequent years, ten to 12 graduate students from top universities have entered our program. Our first four graduates received their diplomas in May 2012 at our inaugural commencement ceremony. Currently, more than 50 students are engaged in thesis work in the laboratories of our world-class faculty.

The school is named after Louis V. Gerstner, Jr., in recognition of his exemplary commitment to Memorial Sloan Kettering, including his service on the Boards of Overseers and Managers and as the current Chair of GSK’s Board of Trustees. Mr. Gerstner’s lead gift was essential in establishing the school.

The mission of GSK is to advance the frontiers of scientific knowledge by educating creative and motivated students in an interactive, innovative, and collegial environment. Our goal is to prepare students to make new discoveries in the biological sciences.

Our internationally renowned basic science and clinical research faculty seek to narrow the gap between laboratory research and the treatment of patients. Through our innovative curriculum, students can take advantage of the integration of basic science, clinical research, and patient care for which Memorial Sloan Kettering is known.

GSK students are part of a community of outstanding scientists who have extensive experience in postgraduate education and maintain a strong commitment to training and mentoring the next generation of leaders in biomedical research. Our students are challenged and inspired to do their best possible work.

We hope that you will join us in this extraordinary and exciting environment.

- Kenneth Marians, Dean

The Louis V. Gerstner, Jr. Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, is accredited by the New York State Board of Regents and the Commissioner of Education, 89 Washington Avenue, Albany, New York 12234; Telephone: 518-474-3852.